Review: Jamie’s Italian Restaurant, Sydney

Hey, friends!

Went travelling to Sydney last week and had a great time. Can’t wait to finally be able to share some of that amazing travelling experience with you. In today’s post, I will be sharing with you my dining experience in Jamie’s Italia on our first day in Sydney. My friends and I arrived during the late afternoon via Tiger airways, so we really only had time to check in to our accommodation, look for dinner and explore a little of the night city life.

A friend of ours recommended us Jamie Oliver’s restaurant in Sydney, so we made it a point to check it out! The deco was rustic and gave off a homely feel to it.

ImageImageImage

Image
Check out our super excited faces!

 Alright, time to get down straight to the review!

Image

Jool’s Favourite Sicilian Tuna Fusilli ($13.00/$19.00)

Honestly, this dish tastes like every other pasta dish I have ever ordered in a restaurant back home in Malaysia. There isn’t really anything special about this that made me go ‘wow’ or ‘yummy’. For my friends and I, it was just average. Would not order this again for that price. 

My friends and I give this dish and average rating of 6.5/10.

Image

Squid Ink Risotto

I quite liked the risotto, especially with the soft shell crab mixed into it. I’m a little disappointed that the sweetness and flavour of the crab meat was not very apparent in this dish especially since the risotto, overall, was quite tasteless (probably because of the squid ink).

My friends and I rate this an average of 4/10.

Image

Fish Stew

This dish came out highly recommended online, so we decided to give it a go! It tasted similar to ‘tom yum’ with the stew tasting spicy, sweet and sour. The fish and mussels tasted fresh and the bread was nice and crispy. Unfortunately, the other ingredients in the soup tasted plain. Overall, nothing too special about this dish.

My friends and I rate this an average of 6/10.

IMG_0397 IMG_0398 copy

PLANKS: FISH ($12.50 PER PERSON)

Cured & crispy fish,Beetroot-cured salmon, roasted shellfish, smoked mackerel pâté & mini fritto
misto with yuzu mayo.

We had ordered a fish plank as a starter, but it didn’t arrive until we had finished the mains and was ready to ask for the bill. This was another disappointment as the only thing we enjoyed were the mussels. 

Average rating: 3/10


 

I guess that we had expected too much from the restaurant and ended up too disappointed with the food. Also, the portions were too small for us, so we actually ended up in Hungry Jack’s moments later to fill up our tummies.

Overall restaurant and dish rating: 5/10.  Perhaps our asian tastebuds was craving for some flavourful stuff, and these dishes just didn’t make the cut. I would not recommend any of my friends to pay this restaurant a visit. Sorry, Jamie. Still adore your cooking recipes I have at home though.

If you wish to know more about this restaurant:

ADDRESS:

Jamie’s Italian
107 Pitt Street
Sydney, NSW

OPENING HOURS:

Monday – Sunday
11:30am – Late

Thanks for reading, everyone. Have a great week ahead!

Leave a Reply

